Control freaks are poisonous. I’m looking at you Instagram.

Well this is synchronicity. I woke after a dream last night to jot this idea down. In the news this morning? Instagram is returning to the chronological feed.

Robert Gowty
3 min readMar 24, 2022
Photo by britt gaiser on Unsplash

I like Instagram. I liked it more in its original incarnation.

It’s a problem when businesses loses sight of their core value proposition. Did I just say core value proposition? Excuse me, I need to go and have a shower.

Photo by Chandler Cruttenden on Unsplash

OK, I’m back. I’m glad the chronological feed has returned. An algorithmic feed, especially when you’ve got no idea what the algorithm is, is nothing more than a monetisation gaslight.

Here’s Sam and Sammie standing at the top of the waterfall.

“Love this, just so beautiful, looks like you had a really special day!”

Oh, here’s Sam lying at the bottom of the waterfall with a broken leg waiting for the ambulance.

The above comment seems a little insensitive coming after the news that Sam is going to need to get his leg amputated.

--

--

Robert Gowty

Idiot Saveloy. Tasmanian. Answering questions you never asked. Aficionado of the number seven.